Getting Started

This website, which began almost a decade ago in another variation at Georgia State University, is hoped to be a space where students, scholars, and the public can share ideas and information on U.S. immigration history and ethnic identity in the southeastern United States.  All immigrant groups from the colonial period to the present are included.  Because of the size of the area and its diversity, we have currently defined the region as consisting of the following states: Arkansas, Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, and Florida.